Department of Chemical Engineering and Process Engineering ¦ Deutsch ¦ LEGALS ¦ DATA PROTECTION ¦ KIT

Contact

Engler-Bunte-Ring 1-7
76131 Karlsruhe 

Building number 40.13.I 

 

Tel: +49 (0)721 608 42571
Fax: +49 (0)721 608 47770

 

E-Mail: Secretariat

History and profile of the Engler-Bunte-Institute

 

For 100 years, the Engler-Bunte-Institut has been working on sustainable energy and water use in the sense of a safe and careful handling of resources in the field of tension between scientific research and technical application.

 

The Engler-Bunte-Institut focuses on the education and training of students and experts as well as on the research and development of effective processes, analysis and measurement methods and their engineering fundamentals. In 2007, the Engler-Bunte-Institute celebrated its 100th anniversary. The history of the institution testifies to the rapid technical development on which our modern civilization is based and reflects the far-reaching importance of energy and water research. The Engler-Bunte-Institute owes its success story to the cooperation with the state of Baden-Württemberg, represented by its University of Karlsruhe (TH), the city of Karlsruhe and the Stadtwerke Karlsruhe as well as the DVGW (German Gas and Water Association) and the gas industry. In 1903, the DVGW Executive Board decided to establish an experimental gas station. In 1907 the "Lehr- und Versuchsgasanstalt" of the DVGW was officially opened and affiliated to the University of Karlsruhe (TH). Since 1971, the institute has borne the names of two outstanding scientists, who at their time made significant advances in chemical engineering and in particular in the chemical process engineering of fuels: Professor Carl Engler, appointed to Karlsruhe in 1876, and Professor Hans Bunte, active in Karlsruhe from 1887 (see illustration). They acted as pioneers in the field of petroleum characterization and processing and coal-based public gas supply. Today, the Engler-Bunte-Institut belongs to the Faculty of Chemical Engineering and Process Engineering of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and comprises the fields of chemical energy carrier fuel technology (institute director: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Kolb), combustion technology (institute director: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dimosthenis Trimis) and water chemistry (institute director: Prof. Dr. Harald Horn) as well as the DVGW Research Centre.

 

 

Chemical Energy Fuel Technology Division.

The Chemical Energy Fuel Technology Division, formerly Chemistry and Technology of Gas, Petroleum and Coal, is concerned in research and teaching primarily with the process engineering of the conversion and refinement of fuels before their use. Research and development focuses on the fossil fuels gas, oil and coal, but also on renewable fuels, such as biomass and waste materials, on synthetic fuels such as hydrogen and Fischer-Tropsch products, as well as on environmental technology for fuel use in industry and households. The main focus here is on the rational use of chemical fuels and the further or new development of refining processes using the latest scientific findings. Current research focuses on the production of synthetic fuels from biomass. Several publicly funded research projects are dedicated to fundamental investigations of the thermal gasification of biomass. Experimental investigations on the formation of soot and tar during the entrained-flow gasification of biomass pyrolysis oils are a focal point here. The aim is to determine optimal operating parameter ranges for the downstream syntheses. A further topic is investigations on the "chemical quenching" of synthesis raw gases, whereby the thermal energy of the raw gas is used to improve the overall efficiency of the gasification. The project is carried out in close cooperation with the Karlsruhe Research Centre. The work on the production of tar- and soot-free synthesis gases will be supplemented by scientific work on the downstream syntheses (SNG and Fischer-Tropsch synthesis). Decentralized hydrogen production and purification, especially with regard to application in PEM fuel cells, has long been an area of research at the chair. The work on sulphur-tolerant reforming, desulphurisation, water gas shift reaction and residual CO removal covers all relevant process stages of this application. Fuel-related aspects of SOFC fuel cells for stationary (FC heating) and mobile (APU systems) applications are also dealt with in research work of the Chair. These include investigations on reforming and desulphurisation.

 

Combustion Technology

Research activities in the field of combustion technology focus on processes that take place in flames and are characterised by a complex interplay of chemical reactions and transport processes. Scientists are investigating the flames experimentally with complex measurement techniques. On the other hand, they calculate the physical and chemical processes using mathematical models. The knowledge gained from the research work can be used to optimize existing combustion processes and develop new, forward-looking concepts, such as flameless oxidation in gas turbines, lean-burn combustion in aircraft engines or the homogeneous self-igniting combustion engine. The priority here is to increase efficiency and minimize emissions of carbon dioxide and pollutants. Researchers are also responsible for developing safety-related solutions to problems in order to avoid damage caused by explosions or fires.

 

Water Chemistry

The main activities of the Water Chemistry Division are water treatment, drinking water supply, swimming pool water treatment, waste water disposal and water protection. Research and development are oriented towards the current molecular problems of water management: analysis of anthropogenic and biogenic water constituents, oxidation and disinfection processes including the by-products produced, separation processes with membranes and their combination with classical treatment processes (hybrid systems), biochemical conversions and elucidation of the degradation pathways of substances that are regarded as toxic intermediate products. The focus is on the knowledge of the molecular dimension of water constituents, their occurrence, behaviour and reactions. The investigations cover determination methods and reactions of water constituents in water bodies and in technical water treatment. Specially developed and powerful analytical methods enable the identification of pesticides, pharmaceutical products and other organic synthesis products as well as industrial chemicals down to the concentration range of nanograms per liter.

 

DVGW Research Centre

The DVGW Research Unit at the Engler-Bunte-Institut is an independent institution of the DVGW at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Here devices are tested, monitored and certified. The research centre underlines the application relevance of the chairs of the Engler-Bunte-Institut. The employees advise companies in the gas and water industries, develop the basics of practice-oriented processes and are involved in national and international standardisation work in many ways.

 

Gas Testing Laboratory

The Gas Testing Laboratory is recognised throughout Europe and has the technical prerequisites and facilities for all tests required in the gas field, including additional tests to obtain certain quality or environmental labels. On the one hand, material tests are carried out on sealing materials, diaphragms, lubricants, etc. In this context, the gas industry is also involved in the testing of gaskets. On the other hand, in addition to safety tests on all fittings and devices for gas supply and use, tests are also carried out on electrical safety and electromagnetic compatibility.

 

Gas technology consulting

Gas technology consulting is a competent partner for industry and gas supply companies in questions of safe and environmentally friendly processing, distribution and use of gaseous fuels. Current research projects include the production and processing of methane from biomass. Within the scope of the DVGW research project G1/04/07 "Process engineering of the purification of biogas" technical, economic, ecological and licensing aspects of biogas treatment are investigated. In addition, the production of methane from wood by gasification and subsequent methanisation of the synthesis gas was taken up.

 

Department of Water Technology

The Department of Water Technology promotes the supply-oriented development of analytical methods. The forward-looking methods for eliminating unwanted water pollution are also of particular importance. For example, microparticles and macromolecules are successfully separated from the water using novel membrane modules. Materials that are otherwise difficult to separate are eliminated by fast and energy-efficient oxidation processes. Finally, innovative processes are tested and made ready for application together with water supply companies and swimming pool operators.

 

translated from the german text of:

Frank Graf
Rainer Reimert
DVGW-Forschungsstelle am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)

Fakulty of Chemical Engineering and Process Engineering ¦ Legals ¦ KIT

Contact

Engler-Bunte-Ring 1
76131 Karlsruhe 

Building number 40.11 

 

Tel: +49 (0)721 608 42561
Fax: +49 (0)721 9640227

 

E-Mail: Secretariat

Historie und Profil des Engler-Bunte-Instituts


Seit 100 Jahren beschäftigt sich das Engler-Bunte-Institut im Spannungsfeld von wissenschaftlicher Forschung und technischer Anwendung mit nachhaltiger Energie- und Wassernutzung im Sinne eines sicheren und schonenden Umgangs mit den Ressourcen.

 

Das Engler-Bunte-Institut legt seine Schwerpunkte sowohl auf die Aus- und Weiterbildung von Studierenden und Fachleuten als auch auf die Erforschung und Entwicklung von effektiven Verfahren, von Analyse- und Messmethoden und deren ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Grundlagen. Im Jahr 2007 feierte das Engler-Bunte-Institut sein 100-jähriges Bestehen. Die Geschichte der Institution zeugt von der rasanten technischen Entwicklung, auf der unsere moderne Zivilisation aufbaut, und spiegelt die weitreichende Bedeutung der Energie- und Wasserforschung wieder. Seine Erfolgsgeschichte  verdankt das Engler-Bunte-Institut dem Zusammenwirken des Landes Baden-Württemberg, vertreten durch seine Universität Karlsruhe (TH), der Stadt Karlsruhe und den Stadtwerken Karlsruhe sowie des DVGW Deutschen Vereinigung des Gas und Wasserfachs - Technisch wissenschaftlicher Verein e. V. und der  Gaswirtschaft. 1903 beschloss der Vorstand des DVGW, eine Versuchsgasanstalt zu gründen. 1907 wurde die "Lehr- und Versuchsgasanstalt" des DVGW offiziell eröffnet und an die Universität Karlsruhe (TH) angegliedert. Seit 1971 trägt das Institut die Namen zweier herausragender Wissenschaftler, welche die chemische Technik und insbesondere die chemische Verfahrenstechnik der Brennstoffe zu ihrer Zeit wesentlich voran brachten: Professor Carl Engler, 1876 nach Karlsruhe berufen, und Professor Hans Bunte, ab 1887 in Karlsruhe tätig (siehe Abbildung). Sie wirkten als Pioniere auf dem Gebiet der Erdöl-Charakterisierung und -Verarbeitung bzw. der auf Kohle basierenden öffentlichen Gasversorgung. Heute gehört das Engler-Bunte-Institut zur Fakultät für Chemieingenieurwesen und Verfahrenstechnik des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) und umfasst die Bereiche Chemische Energieträger-Brennstofftechnologie(Institutsleiter: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Kolb), Verbrennungstechnik (Institutsleiter: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Henning Bockhorn) und Wasserchemie (Institutsleiter: Prof. Dr. Dr. habil. Fritz H. Frimmel) sowie die DVGW-Forschungsstelle.

 

 

Das Institut bietet zahlreiche Grund- und Hauptfachvorlesungen an. In dem neu konzipierten, englischsprachigen Masterstudiengang "Utility & Waste" , der überwiegend vom Engler-Bunte-Institut betreut wird, lernen Studierende aus Drittwelt- und Schwellenländern die technischen Grundlagen aus dem Bereich der Ver- und Entsorgungswirtschaft.

 

Bereich Chemische Energieträger-Brennstofftechnologie.

Der Bereich Chemische Energieträger-Brennstofftechnologie ehem. Chemie und Technik von Gas, Erdöl und Kohle, beschäftigt sich in Forschung und Lehre vor allem mit der Verfahrenstechnik der Umwandlung und Veredelung von Brennstoffen vor deren Verwendung. Forschung und Entwicklung konzentrieren sich auf die fossilen Brennstoffe Gas, Erdöl und Kohle, aber auch auf erneuerbare Brennstoffe, wie z. B. Biomasse und Abfallstoffe, auf synthetische Brennstoffe wie Wasserstoff und Fischer-Tropsch-Produkte sowie auf die Umwelttechnik bei der Brennstoffnutzung in Industrie und Haushalt. Dabei stehen vor allem die rationale Nutzung der chemischen Brennstoffe und die Weiteroder Neuentwicklung der Veredelungsverfahren unter Einbeziehung neuester wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse im Vordergrund. Die aktuelle Forschung fokussiert sich auf die Erzeugung von synthetischen Brennstoffen aus Biomasse. Mehrere öffentlich geförderte Forschungsprojekte sind grundlegenden Untersuchungen zur thermischen Vergasung von Biomasse gewidmet. Ein Schwerpunkt sind hier experimentelle Untersuchungen zur Entstehung von Ruß und Teer bei der Flugstromvergasung von Biomassepyrolyseölen. Ziel ist es, für die nachgeschalteten Synthesen optimale Betriebsparameterfenster zu ermitteln. Ein weiteres Thema sind Untersuchungen zur "chemischen Quenche" von Syntheserohgasen, wobei die thermische Energie des Rohgases zur Verbesserung des Gesamtwirkungsgrades der Vergasung genutzt wird. Das Vorhaben wird in enger Kooperation mit dem Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe durchgeführt. Die Arbeiten zur Erzeugung von teer- und rußfreien Synthesegasen werden durch wissenschaftliche Arbeiten zu den nachgeschalteten Synthesen (SNG und Fischer-Tropsch-Synthese) ergänzt. Die dezentrale Wasserstoffherstellung und -reinigung vor allem in Hinblick auf die Anwendung in PEM-Brennstoffzellen ist ein seit Langem bearbeitetes Forschungsgebiet am Lehrstuhl. Durch die Arbeiten zur schwefeltoleranten Reformierung, Entschwefelung, Wassergas-Shift-Reaktion und zur Rest-CO-Entfernung werden alle relevanten verfahrenstechnischen Prozessstufen dieser Anwendung abgedeckt. Auch brennstoffbezogene Aspekte von SOFC-Brennstoffzellen für stationäre (BZ-Heizung) und für mobile (APU-Systeme) Anwendungen werden in Forschungsarbeiten des Lehrstuhls bearbeitet. Diese umfassen Untersuchungen zur Reformierung und zur  Entschwefelung.

 

Bereich Verbrennungstechnik

Gegenstand der Forschungsaktivitäten im Bereich Verbrennungstechnik sind die in Flammen ablaufenden Vorgänge, die sich durch ein komplexes Wechselspiel von chemischen Reaktionen und Transportvorgängen auszeichnen. Dazu untersuchen Wissenschaftler die Flammen zum einen experimentell mit aufwendigen Messtechniken. Zum anderen berechnen sie die physikalischen und chemischen Prozesse mithilfe mathematischer Modelle. Mit den aus den Forschungsarbeiten gewonnenen Erkenntnissen lassen sich bestehende Verbrennungsverfahren optimieren und neuartige, zukunftsweisende Konzepte, wie z. B. die flammenlose Oxidation in Gasturbinen, die Magerverbrennung im Flugtriebwerk oder der homogen selbstzündende Verbrennungsmotor, entwickeln. Dabei geht es vorrangig darum, die Wirkungsgrade zu erhöhen und die Emissionen von Kohlendioxid und Schadstoffen zu minimieren. Auch die Erarbeitung sicherheitstechnisch einwandfreier Problemlösungen gehört zum Aufgabenbereich der Forscher, um Schadensfälle durch Explosionen oder Brände zu vermeiden.

 

Bereich  Wasserchemie

Die Tätigkeitsschwerpunkte des Bereichs Wasserchemie sind die Wasseraufbereitung, die Trinkwasserversorgung, die Schwimmbadwasseraufbereitung, die Abwasserentsorgung und der Gewässerschutz. Forschung und Entwicklung orientieren sich an den aktuellen molekularen Problemen der Wasserwirtschaft: Analytik anthropogener und biogener Wasserinhaltsstoffe, Oxidations- und Desinfektionsverfahren samt der entstehenden Nebenprodukte, Trennverfahren mit Membranen und ihre Kombination mit klassischen Aufbereitungsverfahren (Hybrid- Systeme), biochemische Umsetzungen und Aufklärung der Abbauwege von Substanzen, die als toxische Zwischenprodukte gelten. Im Mittelpunkt steht das Wissen um die molekulare Dimension der Wasserinhaltsstoffe, ihr Vorkommen, ihr Verhalten und ihre Reaktionen. Die Untersuchungen umfassen Bestimmungsmethoden und Reaktionen von Wasserinhaltsstoffen in Gewässern und bei der technischen Wasseraufbereitung. Speziell entwickelte und leistungsstarke Analyseverfahren ermöglichen die Identifizierung von Pestiziden, pharmazeutischen Produkten und anderen organischen Syntheseprodukten sowie Industriechemikalien bis in den Konzentrationsbereich von Nanogramm pro Liter.

 

DVGW-Forschungsstelle

Die DVGW-Forschungsstelle am Engler-Bunte-Institut ist eine selbstständige Einrichtung des DVGW am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Hier wird geprüft, überwacht und in Verbindung mit dem DVGW zertifiziert. Die  Forschungsstelle unterstreicht den Anwendungsbezug der Lehrstühle des Engler-Bunte-Instituts. Die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter beraten die Firmen des Gas- und Wasserfachs, entwickeln die Grundlagen praxisgerechter Verfahren und sind in vielfacher Weise in die nationale und internationale Normungsarbeit einbezogen.

 

Prüflaboratorium Gas

Das Prüflaboratorium Gas ist europaweit anerkannt und verfügt über die technischen Voraussetzungen und  Einrichtungen für alle im Gasfach erforderlichen Prüfungen, auch für Zusatzprüfungen zur Erlangung bestimmter Qualitäts- oder Umweltzeichen. Es werden einerseits Werkstoffprüfungen an Dichtungsmaterialien, Membranen, Schmierstoffen usw. durchgeführt. Andererseits werden neben sicherheitstechnischen Prüfungen an allen Armaturen und Geräten der Gasversorgung und –verwendung auch Prüfungen der elektrischen Sicherheit und der elektromagnetischen Verträglichkeit vorgenommen.

 

Technologieberatung Gas

Die Technologieberatung Gas ist ein kompetenter Ansprechpartner für Industrie und Gasversorgungsunternehmen in Fragen der sicheren und  Umweltbewussten Aufbereitung, Verteilung und Nutzung von gasförmigen Brenn- und Kraftstoffen. Aktuell laufende Forschungsprojekte beschäftigen sich unter anderem mit der Erzeugung und Aufbereitung von Methan aus Biomasse. Im Rahmen des DVGW-Forschungsvorhabens G1/04/07 "Verfahrenstech-nische Betrachtung der Reinigung von Biogas" werden technische, ökonomische, ökologische und genehmigungsrechtliche Aspekte der Biogasaufbereitung untersucht. Außerdem wurde die Erzeugung von Methan aus Holz durch Vergasung und anschließende Methani-sierung des Synthesegases aufgegriffen.

 

Abteilung Wassertechnologie

Die Abteilung Wassertechnologie treibt die  Versorgungstechnisch orientierte Entwicklung von Analysenverfahren voran. Von besonderer Bedeutung sind auch die zukunftsweisenden Methoden zur Eliminierung unliebsamer Wasserbelastungen. Beispielsweise werden Mikropartikel und Makromoleküle erfolgreich mit neuartigen Membranmodulen aus dem Wasser abgetrennt. Anderweitig nur schwer abtrennbare Stoffe werden durch schnelle und energieeffiziente Oxidationsverfahren eliminiert. Schließlich werden gemeinsam mit Wasserversorgungsunternehmen und Schwimmbadbetreibern innovative Verfahren erprobt und zur Anwendungsreife gebracht.

 

Autoren:

Frank Graf

Rainer Reimert

DVGW-Forschungsstelle am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)